GNTC receives NACEP Accreditation

June 1, 2023

The Accreditation Commission of the National Alliance of Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships (NACEP) granted initial accreditation to seven dual and concurrent enrollment programs and re-affirmed accreditation to seven dual and concurrent enrollment programs at colleges and universities nationwide. This brings the total number of NACEP-accredited programs across the country to 133, spanning 26 states.

“Congratulations to all the institutions receiving NACEP accreditation. Your commitment to meeting these standards shows the value your institution has for providing high school students with rigorous coursework that will help ease their transition from high school to postsecondary,” shares Mike Altomari, Associate Chair of the NACEP’s Accreditation Commission.

As the nation’s only accrediting body for these unique and impactful educational partnerships, NACEP’s standards serve as the model criteria for ensuring parity in faculty, course content, student outcomes, and support. Receiving NACEP accreditation means an institution has met the nation’s most rigorous standard in concurrent enrollment program development, management, and evaluation across multiple, multifaceted program areas.

NACEP was excited to work with the applicants in the 2022-2023 cycle and celebrated many institutions and a few noteworthy milestones. Amy Williams, NACEP’s Executive Director, noted that it has been an exciting accreditation cycle for NACEP: “We are thrilled to welcome our first accredited program in the Sunshine State and have several states that are adding new depth to the roster of accredited programs.” NACEP welcomes Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, our first accredited program in Florida. In Georgia, NACEP granted accreditation for both the concurrent enrollment program (CEP) and College-Provided Faculty model at Georgia Northwestern Technical College, making them the third institution in Georgia and one of three in the nation to hold NACEP accreditation for both endorsements.

In addition, Elgin Community College (Illinois) and Mid-Plains Community College (Nebraska) are the second programs to be granted accreditation in their respective states. Minnesota added two additional institutions (Bethel University and Saint Paul College), which brings their total number to 32, making them the state with the largest number of NACEP-accredited programs.

To earn NACEP accreditation, concurrent enrollment programs conduct a self-study, document how their programs adhere to NACEP’s sixteen standards, and undergo a rigorous peer-review process conducted by a team of representatives from NACEP accredited programs as well as the members of the NACEP Accreditation Commission. NACEP’s accreditation is valid for five years for initial accreditation and seven years for programs that are reaccredited between accreditation reviews; programs commit to upholding NACEP’s standards and report annually on program practices across the sixteen standards.

Dr. Michael Beam, Chair of NACEP’s Accreditation Commission, expresses, “Many thanks to the hundreds of volunteers who make this process possible, specifically the Accreditation Commissioners, the Peer Review Team Leads, and Members. None of this work and support is achievable without their strong collaboration efforts and time commitment.” He adds, “On behalf of the Accreditation Commission, I want to congratulate all of the newly accredited and re-accredited programs, as they have successfully demonstrated their commitment to NACEP’s standards for high-quality programming.”

Institutions Earning Initial Accreditation:

  • Bethel University, Minnesota (CEP)
  • Centralia College, Washington (CEP)
  • Elgin Community College, Illinois (CEP)
  • Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Florida (CEP)
  • Georgia Northwestern Technical College, Georgia (CEP & CPF)
  • Mid-Plains Community College, Nebraska (CPF)
  • Saint Paul College, Minnesota (CEP)

Institutions Earning Re-Accreditation:

  • Ball State University, Indiana (CEP)
  • Central Methodist University, Missouri (CEP)
  • Corning Community College, New York (CEP)
  • Iowa Lakes Community College, Iowa (CEP)
  • Missouri Baptist University, Missouri (CEP)
  • Nebraska Wesleyan University, Nebraska (CEP)
  • Owensboro Community and Technical College, Kentucky (CEP)


CEP - Concurrent Enrollment Program Endorsement

CPF - College Provided Faculty Model Endorsement

NACEP will recognize these programs and their accomplishments at the 2023 National Conference in St. Louis, Missouri. 


The National Alliance of Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships (NACEP) is the leading membership organization supporting programs that successfully transition students from high school to college through college credit-bearing courses. We promote quality programming through national standards, accreditation, and professional development. Our members offer college courses to high school students through a variety of delivery methods and use a range of terms such as concurrent enrollment, dual enrollment, dual credit, and early college. NACEP’s national member network of close to 500 institutions includes colleges and universities, high schools/school districts, and state agencies actively sharing the latest knowledge about best practices, research, and advocacy.

About GNTC

Georgia Northwestern Technical College provides quality workforce education to the citizens of northwest Georgia. Students have the opportunity to earn an associate degree, diploma or a certificate in aviation, business, health, industrial or public service career paths. This past year, 11,601 people benefited from GNTC’s credit and noncredit programs. GNTC has an annual credit enrollment of 8,071 students and an additional enrollment of 3,530 people through adult education, continuing education, business and industry training and Georgia Quick Start. GNTC is a unit of the Technical College System of Georgia and an Equal Opportunity Institution.

# # #