Tuition & Fees
Standard tuition for degree, diploma, and certificate programs is $100 per credit hour. Tuition for the Basic Law Enforcement Certificate is $184 per credit hour for Georgia residents. Tuition for Commercial Truck Driving is $132 per credit hour for Georgia residents.
View our Semester Tuition Rates Charts below for a detailed breakdown of expenses. Use our Net Price Calculator to estimate your expenses. Alabama and Tennessee residents pay the same tuition as Georgia residents. All other out of state residents pay the out of state tuition. See catalog for details.
Basic Law Enforcement
Tuition is $184 per credit hour for Georgia residents and $350 per credit hour for out of state students, plus additional fees for a background check, fingerprinting, POST application, physical, uniforms, and other items (approximately $600).
Commercial Truck Driving
Tuition is $132 per credit hour for Georgia residents and $264 for out of state students, plus fees for drug screening, DOT physical, CDL road test, MVR report and fuel surcharge (approximately $400).
Note: Fees are subject to change without notice.
- Books - Students are required to purchase the textbooks specified by their instructors for the courses they are taking. Textbooks and other supplies may be purchased in the campus bookstore. The cost will vary depending on the course.
- Tools - Students in many programs will be required to purchase basic tools essential to their chosen career field.
- Online Learning - GNTC does not charge higher tuition for online courses. There is no additional fee for assigning a unique user name and password. GNTC students are not charged a proctoring fee if testing at a GNTC location or any campus within the Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG). Proctoring fees may apply for students receiving services at sites other than GNTC or a TCSG college. These proctoring fees may range from $10-$50.
Payment of Fees
Fees and charges not covered by financial aid may be paid by cash, check, or credit card at the Business Office or by debit or credit card online through MyGNTC. Check payments are processed electronically and require a phone number and driver’s license number. The check processor will charge a $30 returned check fee for checks that do not clear.
Late Registration Fee
A $30.00 late fee will be assessed to students’ accounts should registration take place beginning the first day of the semester and thereafter. There will be no late fee for students adding classes to an existing schedule. Please note, the late fee will apply to those students who are required to re-register after being dropped from classes for non-payment prior to the first day of the semester.
Georgia Northwestern Technical College can refund 100% of the tuition and refundable fees paid if the student formally withdraws within three instructional days from the first day of the semester. No refunds will be issued after this date. Application fees are not refundable. The Business Office processes all refunds by the third week of the semester in which the student withdrew from classes. Refunds are generated through BankMobile. Students must activate their BankMobile account and select a refund preference.
Refunds will not be issued to students who do not formally withdraw. This policy applies to all students regardless of the source of fee payments.
Definition of Legal Residence
Tuition varies according to the legal residence of independent students or the legal residence of dependent students’ parent(s) or court-appointed legal guardian(s). A person’s legal residency is determined by their domicile or permanent home. GNTC recognizes three student residency categories: In-State, Out-of-State, and Foreign. Foreign students are not eligible for In-State or Out-of-State classifications. An independent student meets the In-State Residency requirements if he/she has established and maintained a domicile in the state of Georgia for at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the first day of classes for a given term. A dependent student meets these requirements if his parent or U.S. Court appointed guardian has established and maintained domicile in the state of Georgia for at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the first day of classes for a given term and the student graduated from an eligible high school in Georgia or the parent or U.S. Court appointed guardian claimed the student as a dependent on their most recent federal tax return.
Individuals who wish to qualify for another type of residency must complete a Petition for Change of Residency found on the Forms page and submit all required documentation.
Verification of Lawful Presence in the United States
Effective January 1, 2012, all students applying for in-state tuition must provide validation of lawful presence in the United States. The following documents will serve as proof of lawful presence in the United States and documentation will be required before you are eligible for consideration of in-state tuition:
- A current Driver's License issued by the State of Georgia after January 1, 2008.
- A current ID issued by the State of Georgia after January 1, 2008.
- A current Driver’s License or ID issued by a state that verifies immigration status and only issues to persons lawfully present in the United States. The Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG) will accept the following:
- Alabama: Issued after August 1, 2000
- Florida: Issued after January 1, 2010
- South Carolina: Issued after November 1, 2008
- Tennessee: Issued after May 29, 2004
- A certified U.S. Birth Certificate showing the student was born in the U.S. or a U.S. territory. A photocopy is not acceptable.
- An approved completed FAFSA for the current financial aid year.
- A current, valid Permanent Resident Card (USCIS form 1-151 or 1-551).
- A current, valid military identification card for active duty soldiers or veterans.
- A U.S. Certificate of Birth Abroad issued by the Department of State (DS-1350) or a Consular Report of Birth Abroad (FS-240).
- A current U.S. Passport.
- A U.S. Certificate of Citizenship (USCIS form N-560 or N-561).
- A U.S. Certificate of Naturalization (USCIS form N-550 or N-570).
- Any student who cannot be verified as lawfully present in the United States is not eligible to be considered for in-state tuition, regardless of how long he or she has lived in Georgia. In addition to being lawfully present in the United States, students must meet the in-state tuition requirements as outlined in TCSG Board Policy and Procedure V.B.3 to warrant an in-state classification. Students that are initially classified as out-of-state and successfully petition to have their residency changed to in-state also have to meet the verification requirement.